Sunday, March 2, 2008


The XHTML standard defines three Document Type Definitions.
The most common is the XHTML Transitional.
PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"

XHTML 1.0 specifies three XML document types that correspond to three DTDs: Strict, Transitional, and Frameset.
XHTML 1.0 Strict
PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"

Use this when you want really clean markup, free of presentational clutter. Use this together with Cascading Style Sheets.

XHTML 1.0 Transitional
PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"

Use this when you need to take advantage of HTML's presentational features and when you want to support browsers that don't understand Cascading Style Sheets.

XHTML 1.0 Frameset
PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Frameset//EN"

Use this when you want to use HTML Frames to partition the browser window into two or more frames.

No comments: